Hello, March! {More Brunch + Zucchini Cake}

1 Mar

So far in 2013, I am keeping up the brunch portion of my “doing what you do” resolution pretty well! Adam and I had a few people over for a leisurely Sunday brunch last week and, as usual, it was so wonderful to catch up over my favorite meal of the day! This time it was mostly former co-workers of mine and their significant others, so there was plenty of reminiscing about our good old audit days.

photo 2

I made a couple of the standards from my B&B days: pineapple cream cheese French toast and sausage balls {if you click on this recipe link, please note that I chose to pass on the mayonnaise dipping sauce … maybe I’m not a true Southerner at heart, but seriously, Paula?  Mayonnaise dipping sauce for sausage?}.

I tried one new recipe this go round: Martha Stewart’s Zucchini Bundt Cake. I was trying to avoid the overly sweet with this dish, so I skipped the orange glaze and candied zucchini. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as is and found it to be perfectly delicious! A nice balance of savory and sweet, with warm, spicy undertones courtesy of cinnamon, anise seeds, and cardamom. Also worth noting, this cake came out of the pan easily, which is always a plus when making a bundt cake. I enjoyed the leftovers at work and would definitely make this one again!

photo

The anticipation of spring was definitely on my mind as I put together the centerpiece. I love the bright blues and yellows together and nothing says “spring is coming” like daffodils! The table runner was a lucky {and super cheap!} find on the remnant table at G Street Fabrics that I pressed the night before to look like it had actually been hemmed {which would have involved such complex tasks as changing the thread on my sewing machine!}. I was so excited to find something as on-trend as a bold chevron print on the sale table! I’ve had the teapot for years and loved the idea of re-purposing it as a vase. The tiny teacups were the perfect size for floating tea-lights and added a nice glow to the table {not to mention a few more pops of blue}.

photo 1

photo 3

photo 4

7 Responses to “Hello, March! {More Brunch + Zucchini Cake}”

  1. Anonymous March 1, 2013 at 10:33 am #

    Lovely!

  2. karin Tracy March 1, 2013 at 10:34 am #

    Love it! And mayonnaise ‘dipping’ sauce – blech. Plus mayonnaise plus one other ingredient doesn’t a sauce make.

    • kpolon March 1, 2013 at 10:38 am #

      I thought the same thing! The mustard seems like a total afterthought that’s just a cover for wanting to dip sausage and cheese in mayonnaise!

  3. Sally March 1, 2013 at 11:31 am #

    All lovely – the bread turned out beautifully!

  4. shortpocketsnumbertwo March 1, 2013 at 2:54 pm #

    Love everything about this! The menu, the Chevrons, the colors, and I can’t get over the centerpiece! Love! So creative and Springy with just the right amount of indulgence from a Paula recipe :)

    • kpolon March 7, 2013 at 4:11 pm #

      Thanks so much! Now if only spring would actually get here :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

