Another month, another brunch {Musings on Fellowship & Food}

1 May

While searching for inspiration for March’s monthly brunch, I found myself thumbing through a book that was a wedding gift from a dear aunt on the other side of the country.book cover

I am definitely my father’s daughter when it comes to being overly wonderfully sentimental, and reading the inscription from two and a half years ago started me thinking not only about the wonderful memories from our wedding, but even more so the countless, delightful meals we’ve shared with family and friends since then. We are truly blessed to so often share warm fellowship and tasty food around our table.  I couldn’t express my wish for my life with Adam any better than my Aunt Bonnie did!

note

With all of this in mind, I decided to make only dishes from The Culinary Institute of America’s Breakfasts and Brunches this go round. I tried out the recipe for Raspberry Muffins with Pecan Streusel, which seemed to be a hit {and were certainly a hit with me if no one else}! A nice balance of the tartness of the raspberries and the sweetness of the streusel.

recipe

muffins

muffin

I also tried out a couple of quiches that were quite tasty as well! First off was a a Caramelized Onion Quiche.  Side note: I don’t think I’ve ever truly caramelized onions before and let’s just say we were lucky to have any left for the quiche after I performed my requisite quality assurance taste test!

caramelized onion quiche

Next up was a Spinach and Sun-Dried Tomato Quiche. One guest happened to get a bit of bacon and quiche in the same bite and suggested adding bacon the next time I make it. Can’t go round there as far as I’m concerned!

spinach quiche

And what springtime brunch would be complete without a Peeps centerpiece?!?  Happy May Day!

peeps & tulips

One Response to “Another month, another brunch {Musings on Fellowship & Food}”

  1. Anonymous May 3, 2013 at 5:21 am #

    Thanks so much, Kelli! Reading this reminded me of picking that cookbook out for you and Adam. I am so glad the recipes you tried turned out well. Hope all is well in your corner of the world! Much love, Bonnie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

