Fourth of July Baking {Beer Baked White Beans}

5 Jul
There’s nothing quite like a good three-day weekend.  That feeling of relief when you suddenly remember on Sunday afternoon that the weekend isn’t over yet is the best! 
 

This holiday Monday was even better because July 4th in our nation’s capital is really a treat.  Seeing the fireworks over the Capitol and the Washington Monument is something everyone should experience at some point.  I have the good fortune of having a brother-in-law with an apartment just across the river from DC with an amazing view of the fireworks.  Enjoying the sights and sounds of July 4th in DC with friends and family over good food and drinks without having to battle the crowds is an added bonus!

In preparation for the festivities, I decided to spend my day off in the kitchen with a couple of familiar recipes (see my next post on cupcakes!) and one new one.  The afternoon of baking was relaxing, and I was pleased with the results as well!  Here is the new recipe I tackled, and the fabulous blog where I found it.

First up, a recipe from Everyday Food, which I came across on The Bitten Word: Beer-Baked White Beans.  I was excited to try this one because I love white beans and summer ale, and most anything with bacon can’t be that bad!  The only slight variation I made was to use 4 cans of Great Northern beans rather than starting with a pound of dried beans.  I also chose to use Samuel Adams Summer Ale for my beer and Grey Poupon Harvest Coarse Ground for my dijon because both were already in my fridge, but next time I’d like to try it with Blue Moon to see how much the beer changes the flavor.

Ghost looks on as I do some prep work

After a little over two very long hours of baking, I am happy to report that this recipe was a success!  It definitely doesn’t have the sweetness that usually comes with baked beans, but I am willing to bet you won’t miss that once you get a taste of the rosemary in this recipe …  and oh yes, the bacon!  Here’s a shot of the dish just before it’s ready to hit the oven.  Trust me, the bake time is worth it, as the flavors really benefit from all that time getting to know each other covered in the dutch oven!

Just about ready to bake for 2 hours!

 

{Beer Baked White Beans}

Prep Time: 15 minutes | Total Time: 2 hours, 30 minutes plus soaking
Serves 6

Ingredients:

  • 6 slices bacon, cut crosswise into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 medium yellow onion, diced small
  • 4 garlic cloves, smashed and peeled
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 sprig rosemary
  • 1 pound dried white beans, such as Great Northern or cannellini, picked over, soaked overnight, and drained {or 4 cans white beans}
  • 2 bottles Belgian-style white ale (12 ounces each), such as Blue Moon or Hoegaarden
  • 1 3/4 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons cider vinegar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large Dutch oven or heavy pot with a tight-fitting lid, cook bacon over medium until fat is rendered and bacon is crisp and browned, stirring occasionally, about 5 minutes. With a slotted spoon, transfer bacon to paper towels to drain. Increase heat to medium-high; add onion and garlic to pot and cook, stirring occasionally, until onion is translucent, 4 minutes. Add mustard and honey; cook 1 minute. Add rosemary, beans, beer, and broth; season with salt and pepper. Bring mixture to a boil; cover and transfer to oven.

Bake until beans are tender and most of liquid is absorbed, about 2 hours. Season to taste with vinegar, salt, and pepper. To serve, stir in reserved cooked bacon.

Here is the original recipe from Martha Stewart as well as the post on The Bitten Word.  I hope your 4th of July was filled with as many good friends and tasty treats as mine was!  Stay tuned for the other recipes I tried out!

Sparklers with the Capitol & Washington Monument in the background!
 
2 Responses to “Fourth of July Baking {Beer Baked White Beans}”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. mmmmm {Chicken Shawarma with Garlic Sauce} « wedding withdrawal - July 10, 2011

    […] if you recall, Monday ended up being a pretty busy day of baking, and I didn’t quite get the chicken in the marinade.  So, the first major change I made to […]

  2. Countdown to Summer! {Fresh Strawberry Cupcakes} | wedding withdrawal - May 22, 2012

    […] and the rules of the potluck, I was really supposed to be making a side dish {which I did – Beer Baked White Beans}; but, as you know, it’s pretty hard for me to resist an opportunity to do some baking! I […]

Leave a Reply

