Cookies for a cook-out {Chocolate Marshmallow Cookies}

9 Aug

The hubby and I decided to have some folks over for a cook-out this weekend, and I thought it would be fun to bake something other than cupcakes for a change.  I had just come across a recipe for chocolate marshmallow cookies on a blog called NoBiggie, which features many of my favorite things (cooking, paper crafts, decorating, etc.), and thought they sounded delicious.  I mean, chocolate and marshmallow … can’t go wrong with either of those!  And I guess I’m a bit of a sucker for a sentimental story, because I was also drawn to the story of this blogger remembering her grandmother always pulling these cookies out of the freezer when she visited.

This recipe also gave me an excuse to buy Crisco; which, I’m not going to lie, has never been in my pantry.  The only thing I recommend is to use fewer marshmallows based on the amount of dough the original recipe yields.  I was pacing myself to use the all of the marshmallow thirds when I made the first batch, but the marshmallows ended up oozing out of the chocolate a little more than I would have liked.  As Adam described it, “fat marshmallow, little chocolate coat.”  {Yep, that’s a Tommy Boy reference, just in case you didn’t catch it.}  Here’s a look at the first batch.

A little too oozy for my taste, but still delicious!

Here is the original recipe from NoBiggie with my {recommendations}.

{Chocolate Marshmallow Cookies}

  • 15 marshmallows, cut into thirds {I used more like 12 for a total of 36 cookies}
  • 2/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup sugar (plus more sugar for rolling)
  • 1 cup Crisco
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar (firmly packed)
  • 2 unbeaten eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Marshmallow thirds - ready to chill out in the freezer for a bit.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Cut the marshmallows into thirds using scissors, and place in the freezer while preparing the dough.  

Sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt; and whisk until well-combined.  

In a separate bowl, cream together the sugar, brown sugar, and Crisco.  Blend the eggs and vanilla into the sugar mixture and beat until combined. Slowly stir in the dry ingredients, and mix until they are all incorporated into the dough. 

Roll the dough around each marshmallow third, sealing it in a small ball.  Roll each finished ball in sugar and place on a cookie sheet about 1 1/2″ apart.  Bake for about 5-6 minutes and then set out to cool.

I really like the way these cookies turned out.  The saltiness is a nice balance to the sticky sweetness of the marshmallows, and the chocolate is dense and rich {I’m guessing because of the Crisco}.  Adam said they reminded him of Dutch Fudge Cookies that he apparently tore through as a kid.  These cookies are easy and delicious, and apparently freeze well {although we didn’t have any left to freeze}.

Here’s a look at some of the later batch cookies that didn’t ooze quite as much.  Enjoy!

Salty, sweet, chewy deliciousness!

One Response to “Cookies for a cook-out {Chocolate Marshmallow Cookies}”

  1. Emily August 11, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    They ARE delicious! I can’t believe you just disclosed the secret for all to see! And here I foolishly spent that night thinking about how in the world you got the marshmallow INSIDE the chocolate coat. Brilliant!

Leave a Reply

