Wednesday Wish List {Organization Part 1}

7 Sep

This week I’ll kick off a series of Wish List items related to organization.  I’m not sure how many parts it will be, because I could go on and on about organization!  My family can attest to the fact that one of my most influential childhood books was The Berenstain Bears and the Messy Room.  As a small girl, I remember looking at the final pages of this book in awe and wishing my closet could be filled with neatly labeled boxes of all of my keepsakes and toys.  As I searched the web for a picture from the book to show you, I came across a true kindred spirit; so I thought I would share a post from Organized Design that perfectly puts into pictures and words my feelings on this book and the lasting impression it made on me.  It’s nice to know that, even if I was a little odd, I wasn’t alone!

As adults who not only combined two houses worth of stuff into one, but also added to that so many thoughtful and amazing wedding gifts, we have quite a few areas in our home that could use a little of the Berenstain Bear magic; but this week I will focus on one.  I’m not exactly sure what I’m wishing for, but I do know that I need some way to get my jewelry under control!  I have never been a girl who needed lots of fancy jewelry, but I do love necklaces a lot, and have accumulated quite a few over the years.  It’s definitely my favorite accessory for spicing up all of those monochromatic v-neck shirts I love to wear so much!  This accumulation has been a bit faster over the last couple of years as I now have a mother-in-law who makes beautiful necklaces and is kind enough to share them with me!  Here’s an example of one of my favorites, which she made for me to wear to our rehearsal dinner.  How great is it to have someone who is not only able but happy to create a custom piece for you on a special occasion!

Custom necklace from Mom!

And now to the point!  I have been struggling to come up with a way to keep all of my necklaces neat and orderly, but also accessible enough that I remember to wear them all!  I came up with a system of boxes in my bedside table that is okay, but I find that I don’t think to wear some of them as much as I should when they are all tucked away.  While nothing quite suits my needs, here are a few of the ideas I’ve been looking at.

Pottery Barn Accessory Tower

This Accessory Tower from Pottery Barn is kind of a pie-in-the-sky solution.  At $599, it probably costs more than my entire jewelry collection, not to mention the fact that there really isn’t room for more furniture in our bedroom as it is!  A girl can dream though …

Urban Outfitters Jewelry Stand

Etsy Jewelry Stand

Anyone who attended my wedding, or saw any of the related paper goods, will know that I love a good tree motif!  I’m sure that’s why I’m always drawn to jewelry stands like these more reasonably priced solutions from Urban Outfitters and Etsy, both in the $30 range.  My main problem with these stands is that they would be overwhelmed by all of my necklaces – even just a few larger beaded ones would quickly hide the beautiful tree shape!  So, on to the next option!

Finally, what might be the most workable solution for me is more of a D.I.Y. frame/pegboard option.  Here are a couple of interesting ones I’ve come across on other blogs.  The great thing about these, is that the possibilities are endless!  The first is from DreamGreenDIY and I love the idea of repurposing old decorative items like frames and knobs in order to achieve a totally new look.  The second example, found on Hello Beauty, is a more understated approach that would allow the necklaces to be the stars!  This one would probably work better with our existing decor, as the first would tend more to the shabby chic {which I absolutely love, but alas does not go with a thing in our house!}.

{www.dreamgreendiy.com}

{www.hellobeautyblog.com}

I will most likely continue pondering the options for quite some time, but would love any ideas you’ve come across or even tried yourself!

4 Responses to “Wednesday Wish List {Organization Part 1}”

  1. Carrie September 7, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    Thanks for the shout out, Kelli!

  2. Annie Jenkins September 7, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    Kelli – I have seen an old shutter used as a place to hang necklaces, and even earrings. If it is a double shutter, it can fold partially and stand on its own; or, it can be hung on the wall. You need little “s” hooks to attach the necklaces. I cannot recall how the earrings were fixed, but there must be a way. Good luck. You are so “crafty” that I know you will figure this out. Annie

  3. kpolon September 7, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    Carrie – love your blog! I’ll definitely be back for more ideas :)

    Annie – thanks! That’s a great idea! I should poke around some flea markets and see what jumps out!

  4. sonjasays April 20, 2012 at 6:06 pm #

    Thanks so much for sharing my display board organizer! I’m so flattered! I’m totally drooling over that Pottery Barn “tower.” :)

Leave a Reply

