A very happy anniversary {DIY Memory Box}

26 Sep

So, it’s been a year since the wedding … does that mean I have to change the About Me section to say something other than “recent bride”?  In some ways it feels like we’ve been married much longer {good ways, I promise!}, but in other ways I can’t believe it’s already been a year.  Adam and I marked the occasion in Culpeper, Virginia – a small town about an hour outside of the D.C. area.

The trail to Mary's Rock - Shenandoah National Park

We hiked a small piece of the Appalachian Trail {after a very scary, foggy drive to the trail and a black bear sighting!} and we enjoyed great food and wine {check out Foti’s if you’re ever in Culpeper!} … but most of all, we enjoyed the time together doing some of our favorite things while reminiscing about all of the good times that were had this time last year.  We rounded out the weekend by being treated to dinner by Adam’s brother {thanks, BP!} and enjoying the cupcakes and bottle of wine we saved from the wedding.  I have to say, the cupcakes held up much better in the freezer than I thought they would and were actually quite tasty!

Anyway, I thought long and hard about what to give Adam for our first anniversary, and in typical Kelli fashion, was working on my gift right up to the last possible minute!  Luckily for me, the first anniversary is the paper anniversary and, as you know, I love paper!

I finally settled on putting together a box of some of my favorite memories from our time together so far, and found an old cigar box that I’ve been hanging on to for years that seemed like the perfect item to repurpose {empties are usually available at cigar stores for free or a nominal charge and can be used for storing all sorts of things!}.

I then got to work digging through old calendars and emails trying to piece together some of the more significant dates.  I cut cards down to size in some fun colors and inserted a stamped image of the same birds I used on our wedding invitations behind a heart punch cut-out.  I made more than enough cards so that we still have some blank ones ready for all of the memories yet to come!

Adam seemed to enjoy his gift, and I will certainly enjoy his gift to me – my very own masala dabba {he must read the blog!}

I’ve said it before, and I’m sure I’ll say it again, but a wedding is a very humbling experience where you look around and realize that people have traveled from all over the country just to celebrate your love and commitment!  We enjoyed so much love and support surrounding our wedding, and I know that this continued encouragement will be a big key to the success of our marriage {no pressure, guys!}.  I can’t wait to see what’s next for us!

4 Responses to “A very happy anniversary {DIY Memory Box}”

  1. Emily September 26, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    I love this post! So beautiful with great photos. Love the keepsake gift and interpretation of paper gifts.

  2. kpolon September 26, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    Thanks, Emily! We had such a lovely weekend!

  3. Jack Wilkerson September 28, 2011 at 5:05 am #

    It won’t surprise you to learn that your sentimental old dad got just a little choked up reading this entry. Such sweet, beautiful memories. And such a beautiful anniversary gift. With much love and best wishes for many happy returns of the day.

  4. kpolon October 5, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    Thanks, Dad!

Leave a Reply

