Perfect holiday (or any day) cookie {Cardamom Snaps}

12 Oct

Hi … it’s me again … and yes, I’m putting more cardamom into baked goods!  This time it was a recipe for Cardamom Snaps that I came across on Better Homes and Gardens via Pinterest while my challah was baking {more on that later!}.  I was home alone, the oven was already hot, and I had everything I needed to make them; so I found myself putting the ingredients together all of five minutes after finding the recipe.

I was really hoping to find that perfect recipe to showcase the warm, soothing taste/scent of cardamom; and {Spoiler Alert!} while I really love these cookies, it’s not this recipe.  Once again, the cardamom got lost in another flavor {molasses in this case}.  That being said, these little cookies remind me of the holidays and have that perfect balance of crispiness on the outside and tender chewiness on the inside, even a day later.  Not to mention the rich flavor of spiced molasses.  As a side note, the dough is also really easy to work with, so I enjoyed rolling it out by hand without becoming a sticky mess!  Here is the original recipe with my notes.

{Cardamom Snaps}

makes about 48 cookies {or 30 if you make giant cookies like I did!}

  • 3/4 cup shortening
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons ground cardamom
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup mild-flavored molasses {perhaps my molasses wasn’t mild enough}
  • 1 egg
  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar

In a mixing bowl beat shortening with an electric mixer on medium to high speed for 30 seconds. Add the brown sugar, baking soda, 1-1/2 teaspoons of the cardamom, and the cinnamon. Beat on medium to high speed until combined. Beat in molasses and egg. Beat in as much of the flour as you can with the mixer. Stir in remaining flour.

Shape dough into 1-inch balls {I made mine about 1/2 inch larger than this, and the recipe yielded 30 cookies}. Roll balls in mixture of granulated sugar and remaining 1/2 teaspoon cardamom to coat. Place balls 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake in 375 degree F oven about 10 minutes or until edges are set and tops are slightly cracked. Cool on wire rack.

Maybe next time, I’ll hit up a store with more molasses options than the local Giant to see if that makes it easier to taste the cardamom.  Regardless, these cookies just may have you wishing for colder nights and warm apple cider so that you can wrap them up and share them with friends and loved ones.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

