Wednesday Wish List {Just Simply… Cuisine}

19 Oct

Oh, so many wishes this week … a couple for me, but mostly one big one that my DC area friends might want to add to theirs. But first, a little background.

Last year around Christmas time, Adam and I decided that we should just find something we both enjoy doing together, like a cooking class, and let that be our gift to each other.  Soon after that, I spotted a deal on bloomspot for a private cooking class for two at Just Simply… Cuisine. Bloomspot is like those other daily deal sites, but it also offers community circles, which give 10% of your purchase price to a non-profit organization {bonus!}.  I had never heard of Just Simply… Cuisine before, but it seemed to be exactly what we were looking for.

Fast-forward several months when I finally got around to scheduling it … and the best part was that the date of our class ended up being my birthday … so Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, and Happy Birthday to me!  This past Saturday, we found ourselves walking up to the front door of a GORGEOUS home near the National Cathedral and hoping we had the right address.  Chris welcomed us into her kitchen {also stunning} and pretty soon, we were kneading homemade pasta dough.  Making pasta was surprisingly quick and easy with the pasta attachments for a KitchenAid mixer {my first wish list item}!

Pasta Roller Attachment Set {via http://www.amazon.com}

The fresh taste of the homemade pasta was truly delicious, and I’d definitely like to try it at home.  Since the set is a little on the pricy side, and it’s not like we’d be making pasta every day, it would be pretty hard to justify the expense … but, Chris had the brilliant idea of going in on a set with her neighbor … so, any takers? : )

Her entire kitchen was basically one giant wish list for me. I mean, she has a warming drawer, an impressive Viking range, an island that comfortably fits a small crowd, and don’t even get me started on the meat t-shirts {yep, you read that right}! I hate to go on and on without a single picture to share, but feel free to hop on over to the website or “like” Just Simply… Cuisine on Facebook and you can see what I’m talking about!

All that aside though, the most delightful thing about our class was just sitting around the kitchen all night enjoying yummy food that we helped make and talking food/cooking with someone who is so passionate about what she does.  The classes at Just Simply… Cuisine don’t have menus set in advance because she firmly believes in eating seasonally and locally.  There’s something to be said for knowing from where all of your ingredients come and, by the end of the evening, we certainly had a pretty good idea of that.  We left with some definite ideas about how we’d like to change our cooking habits around the house, and I’m really hoping we stick to them!

I hope I’ve piqued your interest enough to check it out, and if you’re in the area and want to get a small group together for a class, let me know!

Leave a Reply

