Family and fall baking {Pumpkin Cupcakes with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting}

26 Oct

Last Friday morning was a flurry of baking.  We were hitting the road for my mother-in-law’s house around midday, and I was supposed to bring cupcakes for her party.  I knew bringing something chocolate was a must, but I also wanted to bring something kind of fall-ish.  After carefully narrowing down my choices to the final four, I intended to only bake two, but ended up deciding on three: spicy chocolate cupcakes with cardamom buttercream, pumpkin cupcakes with cinnamon cream cheese frosting from My Baking Addiction, and chocolate espresso fudge cookies from Love & Olive Oil.  Then shortly before I started baking, I got a request from the hubby for the chocolate and peanut butter chip pretzel cookies I had made earlier this summer.

Anyway … four hours later, I was throwing random clothes in a bag while approximately 30 full-sized cupcakes, 50 mini cupcakes, and 60 cookies were cooling.  Here is my basic summary of all of this baking: the spicy chocolate cupcakes are always interesting and full of flavor; the pumpkin cupcakes were all I was hoping for in a fall cupcake and I’ll elaborate below; the chocolate espresso fudge cookies were basically brownies in cookie form {so, YUM!}; and the salty sweet pretzel cookies were once again the first to get gone!  So while each was tasty in its own way, I’m going to focus on the pumpkin cupcakes since we are in the midst of fall and a cold front is apparently on the way.

Quite the dessert spread with some delicious chocolate mousse in the center courtesy of my mother-in-law!

I was really happy with the way these pumpkin cupcakes turned out – moist and full of warm fall flavors – but most of all, it was so much fun enjoying them with so many of our dear friends and family.  It was amazing being in the house where my husband grew up with not only his mother and many of her friends, but also my parents {thanks for making the trip, Mom & Dad!} and Adam and his brother’s friends and their growing families. There was a lot of reminiscing about the Polonpaloozas of the old days and amazement at seeing the offspring of Polonpalooza attendees running around that very same house. This weekend was such a great reminder of how important it is to always come back to the people and places that matter most!  May you be lucky enough to enjoy as much good company {and FOOD!} as we did this past weekend.

Pumpkin deliciousness!

{Pumpkin Cupcakes}

makes about 25-30 full-sized cupcakes

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 ½ teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 4 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 can (15 ounces) pumpkin puree

Almost done!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cupcake pans with paper liners and set aside. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and pumpkin pie spice; set aside. In a large bowl, whisk together, brown sugar, granulated sugar, butter, and eggs. Add dry ingredients, and whisk until smooth. Whisk in pumpkin puree. Divide batter evenly among liners, filling each about halfway. Bake until tops spring back when touched, and a cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean, 20 to 25 minutes, rotating pans once if needed. Transfer to a wire rack; let cool completely before frosting.

Just about ready for the drive home!

{Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting}

  • 2 packages (8 ounces each) cream cheese, softened
  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 2 lbs. confectioners’ sugar {I only used 2 1/2 cups or so, and had frosting to spare}
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Using a mixer, blend the butter and cream cheese together until well combined. Gradually add in the confectioners’ sugar until fully incorporated. Finally mix in vanilla and cinnamon.

Ready for the party {or for breakfast}!

7 Responses to “Family and fall baking {Pumpkin Cupcakes with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting}”

  1. Cathy Field October 26, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    I’m drooling already! Can’t wait to try these this weekend!

    • kpolon October 26, 2011 at 10:18 am #

      Thanks, Cathy! We definitely had them after dinner and then again for breakfast the next day :) I hope you enjoy them!

  2. A Tablespoon of Liz October 26, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    These sound/look so good.. I”m loving the flavor combo!

    • kpolon October 26, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

      Thanks! I just hopped over to your blog and am loving the post about the banana stand! Those look so tasty and I definitely have a soft spot for all things Arrested Development!

  3. Anonymous October 26, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    You and I were baking twins last weekend, except I used ground cloves in the frosting instead of cinnamon. Yummy either way!! I’m glad the party was fun…I hope we talk soon!!

    • Anonymous October 26, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

      that was me Stephanie by the way!! love you.

    • kpolon October 26, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

      Yum! Cloves sound delicious too! I hope we can catch up soon!

Leave a Reply

