A dear friend and a gift for Mom {Custom Embroidery}

30 Jan

I’m really excited about today’s post, because it gives me the chance to spotlight the wit and creativity of a dear, dear friend. You may remember my friend Sarah from such posts as Wednesday Wish List {Charleston, SC} as she was my college roommate and travel companion on my most recent trip back to Charleston. Our fathers introduced us one steamy, low-country afternoon as we moved into the dorm freshman year, and we have since shared countless memorable moments and inside jokes. Last year, I was honored to have Sarah stand with me as a bridesmaid on one of the most important days of my life to date. Here’s a photo from my wedding, which is still one of my favorites from the day, and I think perfectly captures our friendship.

{Rebekah Girvan Photography}

Okay … enough background!  Last year, Sarah found an outlet for her love of needlework when she opened her very own Etsy shop named Patsie&Lila {after her grandmothers}. Her original pieces feature quotes from geeky TV and movies {her words, not mine!} as well as from Shakespeare. Her most recent addition to the shop really cracks me up, and has me thinking of all those expectant friends of mine out there!

Beyond cute.

Now on to the “gift for Mom” part of the post. After hearing my mother rave about Little Women a couple years back, I decided it might be time for me to actually read this classic {as a bonus, lots of classics including Little Women are free on the Kindle!}. One quote stood out to me in particular: “What do girls do who haven’t any mothers to help them through their troubles?” I’m sure many of you out there think your mom is the best, but mine really is! She’s the most kind and caring person I know, and I can only aspire to be the source of strength and encouragement to my future children that she has been to her little women.

So, long story long, I asked Sarah to create a custom piece using this quote so that I could give it to my mother. The result was absolutely perfect and I know my mom really loves it as well. Here’s a look at Sarah’s beautiful handiwork, which was created using her own original design. I hope you’ll hop on ever to Patsie&Lila to check out more of Sarah’s work!  Enjoy!

4 Responses to “A dear friend and a gift for Mom {Custom Embroidery}”

  1. rayandskye January 30, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    Those are really cute! Your friend has a great sense of humor.

    • kpolon January 30, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

      I would have to agree! Glad you like them!

  2. Sarah January 30, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

    Thank you for the kind words, Kelli – and the plug for my shop :) I’m so glad both you and your mom were happy with the finished product!

  3. Emily February 10, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    Awwww! Love love LOVE it! Not sure if it’s the the pregnancy hormones or just the well written words you shared, but you just made me tear up! Great quote.

Leave a Reply

