A First Communion and a First Commission {DIY First Communion Favors}

9 Aug

I am so excited to finally {and I mean FINALLY even more than when I did when I first started writing this post} share a project with you that has been a long time in the making! It all started a few months back when I made some favors for the baby shower I co-hosted for a friend. A neighbor happened by after the shower and my husband, ever the marketer, showed her one of the leftover storybook favors. She mentioned that she may have a need for something crafty for her son’s upcoming first communion and decided to stop by later to talk about some ideas with me.

She basically wanted a gift box to hold the rosary she planned to give each child in her son’s catechism class, and was hoping it could also be something they could keep to commemorate the day. I decided to use a simple DIY favor box as my base, and then began searching online for the perfect embellishment to finish it off. I saw this first communion invitation over on tiny prints and really liked the idea of having a cross with text behind it.

So anyway, here’s what I came up with. The box itself is 4″ x 4″ x 2″, and was made using cover weight paper from Paper Source in Paper Bag and Night.  I then cut cross images out of Paper Bag paper using my Silhouette digital cutting tool and used these to form a little pocket that could hold a keepsake card. The pocket is held together by one of my favorite crafting  accessories: washi tape from cutetape.com.

{Side note: My husband gave me the Silhouette as a wedding gift, and you can really do some amazing things with it! It connects to your computer using a USB and basically looks like a little printer … BUT instead of printing, it cuts out the images you buy or design yourself! Pretty cool, right? If you’re interested in seeing one in person, Paper Source often has one in the store that can be used for demonstrations.}

I decided to go with Luke 22:19-20 for the front of the keepsake card; and when I first slipped it inside the pocket, much to my excitement, the “do this in remembrance” line was perfectly in view!

I made a more personal version of the card for my neighbor so that it truly could be kept to commemorate her son’s first communion, but here is a look at the generic version.

I also made some standalone pockets/cards for members of the family so that they could have a keepsake even though they weren’t getting the favor boxes.

I am so happy with the way these came out and, more importantly, I think my neighbor loved them too!

6 Responses to “A First Communion and a First Commission {DIY First Communion Favors}”

  1. Karin Tracy August 9, 2012 at 10:48 am #

    Kelli, they’re wonderful! I love seeing what you do.

    • kpolon August 9, 2012 at 10:59 am #

      Thanks, Karin! I haven’t had much time to play around lately, but I’m hoping to get back into some fun projects soon :)

  2. Steph August 9, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    They are beautiful, so personal to the event!!!

  3. Emily August 9, 2012 at 6:15 pm #

    Wow. I mean WOW! You are just so crafty. This post was worth the wait – the finished product looks spectacular!

    • kpolon August 9, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

      Thanks, Friend! I’m excited to finally share it :)

Leave a Reply

